June 10, 2006
Second Ballot required for St. Lawrence Regional Representative Elections
Elections were recently held in various parts of the country for Regional Representative positions for CAW Council 4000.  The results
of the first ballot election were announced on May 29th.  A second ballot run off will be required for the St. Lawrence Region positions
that service both on-board and off-board members at VIA Rail in Quebec.

Of the five candidates vying for the Quebec positions, Serge Auger picked up 38% of the total vote, with Local 4004 President Daniel
Ouellet coming in a close second with 37%.  Both candidates will square off in a second ballot election that will be determined before
the beginning of July.  A second ballot is required when none of the candidates on the first ballot receive 50% plus one vote of the total
votes cast.

Winners were decided in the other races:

In the Atlantic Region, present incumbent Heather Grant was re-elected with 70% of the total vote for the position that services Local
4005 members at DHL Express, Nova Scotia Federation of Labour Support Staff, Rivenwood Furniture, Scanwood Canada Ltd., VIA
Rail, and the World Trade & Convention Centre in Halifax.  

In Quebec, present incumbent Claude Rainville recaptured his position by attaining 56% of the total vote, and will continue servicing
Local 4004 members at CN and the Shawinigan Railway.

In Ontario, present incumbent Tony Blanchard, Regional Representative responsible for the servicing of Local 4003 members at
CARA, Judy Vent Investments (Harvey's), Motor Coach Industries and VIA Rail, was defeated by Danny Andru.  Andru captured 69% of
the votes to win back the position he held from 2000 to 2003.  

Winning back her position for the second time in a year was Sandra Prudames, who is responsible for servicing Local 4003
members in Southern Ontario at Autoport, CN, Coyote Terminals and Toronto Terminal Railway.  Prudames was first elected in 2005
to replace Bob Fitzgerald, who was elected as National Council 4000 President in January of last year, defeating Rick Johnston.  
Sandra was re-elected with 66% of the total votes cast.       

All the existing Regional Representatives in Western Canada won by acclamation.  

Rick Doherty, responsible for servicing Local 4003 Prairie Region members at CN enters his fourth term as Regional
Representative.  Doherty is the only person to serve in the capacity of Regional Representative since the formation of Council 4000 in
November of 1997, and besides Secretary-Treasurer Bill Coolen, is the longest serving officer of Council 4000.

Dave Mercer-Hazlitt, responsible for the servicing of Local 4002 (Prairie) and Local 4001 (Mountain) membership at VIA Rail, and
Local 4001 members at  Rocky Mountaineer Vacations, enters his third term as Regional Representative.  Also entering his third term
is Barry Kennedy, who is responsible for servicing Local 4001 Mountain Region members at CN and Savage Alberta Railway.  This is
Kennedy's second acclamation.  Mercer-Hazlitt and Kennedy were first elected in 2000.

This election time, servicing changes were implemented by the Council 4000 Executive.  As opposed to combining the servicing to
include both Local 4004 (Quebec) and Local 4005 (Atlantic Canada) and separating VIA Agreements No. 1 and No. 2, effective July 2,
2006, VIA Rail members, both Agreements No. 1 and No. 2 will be serviced on a regional basis, meaning Atlantic Canada members
(on-board and off-board) will be serviced by Heather Grant, and the Quebec membership (on-board and off-board) will be serviced by
the candidate who wins the upcoming run-off - either Serge Auger or Daniel Ouellet.  This change will not impact the remainder of the
Local 4005 members at DHL, NSFL Support Staff, Rivenwood, Scanwood or the World Trade & Convention Centre, who will continue
to be serviced by Heather Grant.    

Results on the second ballot run-off in Quebec will be posted on
cawcouncil4000.com as they are announced by the Council’s
National Election Committee.

Related story:

Elections for CAW National Council 4000 Regional Representatives  (List of candidates)